· Welcome to Tangguan Valve Group Co., LTD.

Top 10 causes of Valve Failure

2022-04-15 15:51

Valves are an integral part of any processing plant. From crude commodity valves used in meters to complex control valves. They all have a purpose, they all cost money, and they all need to be replaced at some point in the future. It is well known that unexpected failures can be a major cause of valve replacement. In this article, we will explore the top 10 causes of valve failure and some mitigation strategies.

微信截图_20220415155615.png

specifications

It all starts here. Specifications can cause valve failure in two ways: bad data and missing data. Bad data refers to improper valve type and material selection due to incorrect information. Data sheets were filled in, but the assumptions used were not consistent with the actual conditions of the process. This is usually due to a lack of understanding of the process or valve operation.

Regarding the process, the designer may have made appropriate choices for the proper operation of the plant, ignoring conditions such as cleaning, downtime and aging that may require different valve characteristics. Misunderstanding how a valve works can also lead to failure.

For example, floating ball valves depend on upstream pressure of the system to press the ball against the seat for proper sealing. The higher the pressure, the greater the force of the ball against the seat. Conditions that result in a high seal are full constant pressure upstream and atmospheric pressure downstream (no back pressure trying to remove the ball from the seat). But opening the valve depends on size and pressure class, which can be a daunting task. Operators around the world may use cheat bars to solve the problem, which can damage the gearbox or valve. Even if the valve is open, high flow may cause damage to the seat or ball valve during the initial opening. High friction between the seat and ball valve can also cause damage. This can be avoided by connecting upstream and downstream balance lines so that the valve can be opened in less laborious conditions. This is not a practical solution for every situation, and the decision may be to stick with ball valves and adapt to their limitations. No matter what decision is made, it is essential to understand the sealing principle behind the valve properly. Analysis of every valve in an industrial plant (which may contain thousands of valves) is rarely feasible, but it is a welcome procedure, at least for the most critical. In addition, it is worthwhile to get feedback from a similar plant and see which valves are working and which are not performing well.

As we saw above, bad data is about insufficient information on the data sheet. The lack of data is exactly what it sounds like: some lines of the data sheet are left blank and it is up to the supplier or EPC company to decide what is suitable for application. Companies sometimes use this strategy to reduce the diversity of specifications in their factories. If both PEEK and Devlon seats are considered "soft seats" in specifications, the company now has only one model reference number instead of two. The cost of this simplification may or may not be paid in the event of failure. This depends on the complexity of the application and the quality of the vendor.

2. The supplier

The end user's assessment of supplier quality usually depends on the size of the company. Small businesses have few resources to properly vet potential suppliers, including compliance with quality standards such as ISO 9000, cyclic testing, design reviews, and access to sub-suppliers. They need to rely on field-proven solutions, or at least buy from reputable manufacturers. Large companies usually have strict procedures for maintaining AML (list of approved manufacturers). Vetting new suppliers is an expensive exercise that requires the involvement of different departments and can be time-consuming, often taking nearly a year. Even after manufacturers join AML, audit visits need to be simplified to ensure quality is maintained.

Unfortunately, there are times when projects need to be completed and time constraints require the purchase of valves from an unproven supplier. This is far from ideal, as there are no shortage of examples of valves that look good on paper but fail in the field. This is not always the case with poor quality. Sometimes valves of the same specification have very different performance in the same application due to slightly different design or manufacturing methods.

3. Check

The inspection cost associated with the inspection is one of the expenses of careful inspection by the manager. A common temptation is to cut costs when the supplier has a record of valve performance. Examples of valve failures related to defects in the inspection process are not hard to find. Untrained professionals sent to review documentation and traceability, perform all visual and dimensional verification and witness stress tests are easily overwhelmed by the program. Suppliers have repeatedly applied vaseline to seal surfaces to pass seat tests or used measurement techniques that greatly reduce the chance of detecting leaks. Even when dealing with a reputable manufacturer, it is still possible to approve valves of the wrong size or material. It takes a lot of money and time to train inspectors. This is not a case of simply providing classroom training. Conducting mentoring and accompanying inspections of several suppliers in order to develop professional skills appropriately.

4. Transport

Transport risks are associated with impacts, falls and contamination of water and/or solid particles. They involve not only moving the valve from the manufacturer to the warehouse, but also moving the valve from the warehouse to the final location. Valves shall be preferentially transported in their original transport package and properly secured to the vehicle. Failure is possible when the valve is not transported according to standard. Figure 1 shows a jet engine that fell off a truck during transportation. It's hard to imagine securing a $45 million piece of equipment that weighs about 7,000 kilograms with 900 kilograms of tape. But that's what happened. Another common problem has to do with removing valves from their original packaging to save space when transporting multiple items. Sometimes even the protective plastic cap is removed, leaving the valve's internal components exposed and vulnerable to contamination. Transport risks also involve rigging and lifting. Always check the OEM (original Equipment Manufacturer) manual for appropriate procedures. One final warning: proper valve transportation is not just a matter of avoiding material loss. It should be primarily a security issue. Valves are usually heavy enough to cause fatal accidents, and even small valves can become projectiles when not secured in a moving vehicle.

5. Save

Preservation risks are closely related to transport risks such as removing valves from original packaging, removing plastic covers and storing in sunlight, often in hazardous environments. Long-term storage at offshore facilities or in maritime transport may require special procedures to ensure adequate preservation.

6. Installation

Proper installation procedures are usually well explained in the OEM manual. It usually starts with rigging and lifting instructions, local cleaning and assembly into the pipe. For ring joint washers, cleaning is of Paramount importance. This type of metal-to-metal gasket relies on a smooth surface finish to seal, surfaces that can easily be damaged if not properly cleaned prior to installation. Special care should also be taken with drive valves with large actuators, as shown in Figure 2. They may require special supports or additional support to avoid fatigue fracture due to pipe vibration, especially in vertical or inclined installations.

LINK:

About the pond crown
- Company
- Honor
- Sales
- Contact

News
- Information
- Industry

Contact
- TEL:400-778-7585
- Emal:530707168qq.com
- Adress:天津市津南区小站镇工业区四号路23号

阀门故障的十大原因

2022-04-15 15:51

阀门是任何加工厂固有的重要组成部分。从仪表中使用的简陋的商品阀门到复杂的控制阀。它们都有一个目的,它们都需要花钱,它们在未来的某个时候都需要更换。众所周知,意外故障可能是更换阀门的主要原因。在本文中,我们将探讨阀门故障的前十大原因和一些缓解策略。

微信截图_20220415155615.png

规格

一切从这里开始。规格有两种方式导致阀门故障:不良数据和缺少数据。不良数据是指由于信息不正确而导致的阀门型号和材料选择不当。填写了数据表,但所使用的假设与该过程的实际情况不符。这通常是由于缺乏对过程或阀门操作的理解。

关于工艺,设计人员可能已经为工厂的正常运行做出了适当的选择,而忽略了可能需要不同阀门特性的清洁、停机和老化等条件。误解阀门的工作原理也会导致故障。

例如,浮动球阀取决于系统上游压力将球压在阀座上,以便正确密封。压力越高,将球压在阀座上的力量就越大。导致高度密封的条件是上游的全额定压力和下游的大气压力(没有反压力试图将球从阀座上移开)。但打开阀门需要根据尺寸和压力等级,这可能是一项艰巨的任务。世界各地的操作员可能会使用作弊杆来解决,这可能会损坏齿轮箱或阀门。即使阀门打开,在打开的最初时刻,高速流动也可能会对阀座或球阀造成损坏。阀座和球阀之间的高摩擦也可能导致损坏。通过连接上游和下游的平衡管线可以避免这种情况,因此阀门可以在不那么费力的条件下打开。对于每种情况来说,这并不是一个实用的解决方案,也许决定是坚持使用球阀并适应其局限性。无论做出何种决定,正确理解阀门后面的密封原理都是必要的。对工业厂房中的每个阀门(可能包含数千个阀门)进行分析很少是可行的,但至少对于最\关键的,这是一个受欢迎的程序。此外,从类似工厂获得反馈并查看哪些阀门已经发挥作用,哪些表现不佳,这是值得的。

正如我们在上面看到的,不良数据是关于数据表上的信息不足。缺乏数据正是顾名思义:数据手册的某些行被留空,由供应商或 EPC 公司决定什么适合应用。公司有时采用这种策略是为了减少工厂中规格的多样性。如果 PEEK 和 Devlon 阀座在规格中都被视为“软阀座”,则该公司现在只有一个型号的参考编号,而不是两个。这种简化的成本可能会或不会在失败时支付。这取决于应用的复杂性和供应商的质量。

2. 供应商

最终用户对供应商质量的评估通常取决于公司的规模。小型企业很少有资源对可能的供应商进行适当的审核,包括遵守 ISO 9000 等质量标准、循环测试、设计审查和访问次级供应商。他们需要依赖经过现场验证的解决方案,或者至少从信誉良好的制造商处购买。大公司通常有严格的程序来维护 AML(批准的制造商名单)。对新供应商进行审核是一项成本高昂的工作,需要不同部门的参与,而且可能非常耗时,通常需要将近一年的时间。即使在制造商加入 AML 之后,仍需要简化审核访问,以确保保持质量。

不幸的是,有时需要完成项目,并且时间限制需要从未经验证的供应商处购买阀门。这远非理想的情况,因为不乏在纸面上看起来不错但在现场故障的阀门的例子。质量低下的情况并非总是如此。有时,由于设计或制造方法略有不同,具有相同规格的阀门在相同应用中具有非常不同的性能。

3.检查

与检查相关的检查成本是管理人员仔细检查的费用之一。一个常见的诱惑是,当供应商有阀门性能记录时,削减费用。与检查过程中的缺点有关的阀门故障的示例不难发现。未经培训的专业人员被派去审查文档和可追溯性,执行所有视觉和尺寸验证并见证压力测试,很容易被程序所淹没。供应商曾多次在密封表面上涂抹凡士林以通过阀座测试,或使用大大降低检测泄漏几率的测量技术。即使在与信誉良好的制造商打交道时,仍然有可能批准尺寸或材料错误的阀门。培训检查员需要花费大量的金钱和时间。这不是简单地提供课堂培训的情况。对几个供应商进行指导和陪同检查,以便适当地发展专业人员的技能。

4. 运输

运输风险与水和/或固体颗粒的撞击、跌落和污染有关。它们不仅涉及将阀门从制造商移动到仓库,还涉及将阀门从仓库移动到最终位置。阀门应优先使用其原始运输包装运输,并妥善固定在车辆上。当阀门未按照标准运输则很有可能故障。图1显示了在运输过程中从卡车上掉下来的喷气发动机。很难想象用900公斤的带子固定一件价值4500万美元的设备,重约7000公斤。但事实就是如此。另一个常见的问题与从原始包装中取出阀门有关,以便在运输多件物品时节省空间。有时,甚至连保护性塑料盖也被移除,这会使阀门内部部件暴露在外,容易受到污染。运输风险还涉及索具和起重。有关适当的程序,请始终查看 OEM(原始设备制造商)手册。最后一个警告:正确的阀门运输不仅仅是避免材料损失的问题。它应该主要是一个安全问题。阀门通常足够重,足以引发致命事故,甚至小阀门在移动车辆上没有固定时也可能成为射弹。

5.保存

保存风险与一些运输风险密切相关,即从原包装上取下阀门,去除塑料盖以及存放在阳光照射的地方,通常在有害的环境。在海上设施或海上运输中长期储存可能需要特别程序以确保充分保存。

6. 安装

正确的安装过程通常在 OEM 手册中得到了很好的解释。它通常从索具和起重说明开始,局部清洁和组装到管道中。对于环形接头垫圈,清洁至关重要。这种类型的金属对金属垫片依靠光滑的表面光洁度来实现密封,如果在安装前未进行适当的清洁,则这些表面很容易损坏。对于带有大型执行器的驱动阀,也应特别小心,如图2所示。它们可能需要特殊的支架或额外的支撑,以避免由于管道振动引起的疲劳断裂,特别是在垂直或倾斜安装中。


友情链接:

联系我们
- 联系人:
- 电话:400-778-7585
- 邮箱:530707168qq.com
- 地址:天津市津南区小站镇工业区四号路23号